Peth is the smallest tehsil of Nashik subdivision of Nashik district in Maharashtra, India. It belongs to Khandesh and Northern Maharashtra region. It belongs to Nashik Division. Peth is a Taluka head quarter. It is located 42 KM towards North from District headquarters Nashik. It is also called as Peth. Peth Pin code is 422208 and postal head office is Peth.

Latitude: 20°15’29.9″N Longitude: 73°30’11.3″E Height from mean seal level: 700m

Peth is present in the Nashik district at present. The territory now included in Nasik district was formerly partly in Khandesh district and partly in Ahmednagar district. In 1837- 38 part of Ahmednagar district consisting of Sinnar, Chandor, Dindori, Nashik including Igatpuri and Peth State were made into a sub-collectorate under Ahmednagar. The sub-collectorate of Nashik was, however, abolished in 1856 and its talukas incorporated in Ahmednagar district. In 1869, Nasik was made a full-fledged district, which included Peth state. Peth state became British territory and was made into a sub-division in 1878. There were no major changes in the district or taluka boundaries between 1901 & 1948. First Indian to hold the post of Collector was 36th Collector Mr. Kothawala who was ICS.
[embeddoc url=”” download=”all” viewer=”google”]